top of page
Search
20monteathh

Initial Ideas


To create my artist i have taken inspiration from my own character traits and life, making almost another version of myself. My music taste is highly influenced by classical/ instrumental, K-pop and alternative genres. This helps to create my artist due to the contrasting aspects of each genre, for example in BTS' music videos they have high quality visuals and have different themes in different videos, so if i were to base my artist off of this band i could choose from a range of themes.


An artist i am considering to focus on is Indila, who is a French pop singer and songwriter. I am interested in two of her songs, ('Derniere Danse' and 'Tourner Dans Le Vide'), in Derniere Danse she expresses strong emotions of despair, highlighting that she isn't alone in her feelings of alienation living in Paris (as a young immigrant woman facing discrimination). In Tourner Dans Le Vide, Indila talks about her lover and she is being judged for loving him because he is poor. I find her voice to be powerful, entrancing me as an audience, I would like my artist to evoke the same compelling ambience as Indila.


Indila has radiant and glowing visuals, which is a characteristic i would like my artist to have, as someone who can make their audience smile.
Indila - Dernière Danse

Indila has radiant and glowing visuals, which is a characteristic i would like my artist to have, as someone who can make their audience smile.






My artist could perhaps have a name based off of my interests, for example Rose is my middle name and I love photography/ taking pictures of nature/ flowers, therefore Rose may be a fitting name for my artist.

I have a desire to visit Italy due to its beautiful scenery and culture, if I merge this with Indila for example, since she bases her music and videos in France I can make my artist more European in the way she dresses and contribute this style to the cinematics in my music video.


In addition to this, I am interested in the artist Olivia Rodrigo, who is very close to my age which makes her more relatable to me as a teenager; she expresses more emotions of heartbreak/ relationship problems as a young adult.

drivers license (Live From The BRIT Awards 2021)

In this performance she has lighting behind her whilst wearing a flowy, long dress which makes her have an angelic appearance, expressing her emotions of pain through a soft voice. I would like my artist to have the same delicate appearance, as someone who keeps her strong emotions inside and has an innocent aura.




'Mysie' is a small artist from South London

who makes intimate indie soul music, her abstract music videos inspire me as they differ from how Indila and Olivia present themselves. She isn't afraid to show sensitivity and be artistic, which links to my zodiac sign's characteristics that i would want to include in my artist.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Things to consider

When my cast is free to film The times of day/ night to film certain scenes (Girl A's dream and then waking up in the morning) Lighting...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page